the essential joe satriani
Release Date Oct 25 2010
The Essential Joe Satriani Cover
iTunes »
Amazon »
Spotify »


Disc One
01. Not Of This Earth
02. Rubina
03. Surfing With The Alien
04. Satch Boogie
05. Always With Me, Always With You
06. The Crush Of Love
07. Flying In A Blue Dream
08. The Mystical Potato Head Groove Thing
09. I Believe
10. Friends
11. Summer Song
12. Why
13. Time Machine
14. Cool #9
15. S.M.F.
Disc Two
01. Ceremony
02. Crystal Planet
03. Raspberry Jam Delta-V
04. Borg Sex
05. Until We Say Goodbye
06. Clouds Race Across The Sky
07. Starry Night
08. Mind Storm
09. If I Could Fly
10. Is There Love In Space?
11. Super Colossal
12. One Robot's Dream
13. Revelation
14. Andalusia
15. Ghosts


This collection represents a twenty-five year journey composing, playing and recording rock guitar instrumental music, with a vocal or two thrown in for good measure. Selecting the tracks was at first a daunting task, with over one hundred and seventy songs to choose from, you can imagine the difficulty. During the selection process I started to feel that artists shouldn't be the ones to pore over their work like this. It's better to be looking forward, always searching for what lies ahead. Then I asked myself, "Is this a 'Greatest Hits' or an 'Anthology' collection?" There is a difference. However, in this case, it turns out to be both after all, a collection of songs for the hardcore fan, as well as the casual listener. I know this because we turned to the very people who know my music best to compile it, the online fans at With thousands of replies from our questionnaire regarding the "Anthology" collection, we compiled a master track list from which we could extract an awesome collections of songs, and exercise a little editorial control as well. In the end however, their message was loud and clear, and I thank them for ultimately defining this double CD offering. - Joe Satriani, San Francisco September 2010


All songs written by Joe Satriani
Published by Strange Beautiful Music/ASCAP

Compilation Produced by Jeff Magid
Executive Producers: Joe Satriani & Mick Brigden
Mastered by Bernie Grundman
Legacy A&R: Steve Berkowitz

Project Director: Stephan Moore
A&R Coordination: Darren Salmieri

Original Art Direction: David Coleman
The Essential Art Direction: Mark Larson

Front Cover Photography: Leanne Mueller
All Other Photography: Neil Zlozower
Photo Researcher: Liz Reilly

Special thanks to: Mick Brigden, John Cuniberti, Mike Manning, Ibanez Guitars, DiMarzio, D'addario, Korg, Vox, Scott Carter, Jon Luini/Chime Interactive, Wendy Hoffhine, Peter Paterno, Wayne Forte

Extra Special Thanks to Rubina and ZZ